Treasury Committee chair Nicky Morgan steps down

Following the appointment of the former chair of the Treasury Committee, Nicky Morgan MP, as Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, there will be an election after the summer recess for a new chair

The election will take place in the second week of September after the summer recess when MPs return to parliament.

The speaker of the House, John Bercow, said: ‘I shall announce the arrangements for the election to this post, alongside any further select committee chair elections that may arise, when the House returns in September. I hope that it will be possible to hold the election, or elections, in the second week of the September sitting.’

Morgan took over the helm of the influential Treasury Committee in 2017 after the snap election when former chair, Andrew Tyrie, stepped down as MP for Chichester. Tyrie is a cross-bench member of the House of Lords and chair of the Competition & Markets Authority (CMA) and was instrumental in the recent competition review of the audit market.

Nominations are likely to open shortly after the House returns in September. In accordance with the Order of the House of 4 July 2017, only a member of the Conservative Party may be a candidate for the chair of the Treasury Committee.

Nomination forms will be available once the Speaker has announced the arrangements for the election. To be valid, nominations must contain a signed statement made by the candidate declaring willingness to stand, and must be accompanied by the signatures of 15 MPs elected to the House as members of the Conservative party. In the event that more than 15 signatures are collected from the same party as the candidate, only the first 15 valid signatures will be printed.

Nominations may be accompanied by the signatures of up to five MPs from other parties.

Valid nominations received each day will be printed in the next day’s House’s business papers. They will also be published on the parliament website, along with the candidate’s supporting signatures, any declared interests and any supporting statement.

If there is only one candidate, an announcement will be made that he or she has been elected unopposed.

Sara White | 31 July 2019

Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rate this article

Related Articles