Stride back in the chair at Treasury Committee

Mel Stride MP has been re-appointed chair of the Treasury Committee, following general election shake-up which means all committee chairs need to be re-elected

He was first elected last October and replaced Nicky Morgan as permanent chair after a series of interim appointments.

The chair role is traditionally held by a Conservative MP.

Stride replaced Nicky Morgan MP who stepped down as chair in July when she was appointed to the Cabinet as secretary of state for digital, culture, media and sport, following Boris Johnson’s appointment as PM.

He is former financial secretary to the Treasury and has an inside view of Treasury and HMRC, although he has yet to display his teeth as shortly after his appointment the PM, Boris Johnson, called an election for 12 December.

Chairs are elected to serve until the end of the parliamentary session.

Stride was instrumental in pushing through the HMRC transition to Making Tax Digital for VAT reporting, and also was in post when the controversial loan charge rules were introduced, now under independent review by Sir Amyas Morse, former head of the National Audit Office.

Updated 30 Jan 2020: Meg Hillier MP has also been re-elected as chair of the Public Accounts Committee and Rachel Reeves MP will also return to chair the BEIS Committee, where she has been very proactice in pursuing action on audit reform. 

Average: 5 (1 vote)

Rate this article

Related Articles