People in the news: Armstrong Watson, Kilsby Williams, EY

In this week’s accountancy career moves, associate partner at EY, hires at Armstrong Watson and Mazars, CFO at FinnCap Group plc and new Chancellor in Cabinet reshuffle

EY has made two appointments as Alex White joins as an associate partner and Ben Monk as director, both in the business rates team. Prior to joining, Monk was at Colliers International where he was a member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. White joins from PwC where he was previously head of the business rates team.

Armstrong Watson has appointed David Cousins as accounting director based in Skipton. Cousins formerly worked as senior manager at PwC.

Kilsby Williams has named Daniel Burton as tax manager. Burton joins from HMRC where he spent six years as a G7 customs and international tax specialist.

Lucy Sutcliffe has been appointed as director of national customs duty at Baldwins after working for HMRC for over 20 years. Sutcliffe arrives having held a senior strategy and policy role at HMRC.

Mazars has hired Katie Sharpe as national delivery manager for its payroll business. Sharpe previously worked as a payroll services senior manager at Saffery Champness.

Rishi Sunak has been named as Chancellor in the latest Cabinet reshuffle which saw Sajid Javid resign. Sunak's successor as chief secretary to the Treasury was named as Stephen Barclay.

FinnCap has appointed Richard Charles Snow as chief financial officer (CFO), subject to FCA approval. If approved, Snow will join the board in May 2020. He is currently finance director and compliance officer for finance and administration of law firm Greenberg Traurig, LLP. Tom Hayward, current CFO, will remain on the FinnCap board as group chief operating officer (COO) and is still managing partner of Cavendish Corporate Finance.

Bill Coen has been appointed chair of IFRS Advisory Council. He was previously at the Bank for International Settlements as secretary general to the Basel committee on banking supervision. This is a 12-month appointment (renewable once).

Taxation Disciplinary Board has appointed Susan Humble as chair. Humble takes up her role from 17 February. She succeeds Des Hudson, who has retired. Humble was previously chief executive officer and clerk of the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal. The TDB is an independent body that runs the complaints and disciplinary scheme for the Chartered Institute of Taxation (CIOT) and the Association of Taxation Technicians (ATT).

Average: 5 (1 vote)