Mel Stride in running for chair of Treasury Committee

Four Conservative MPs have been nominated for the position of chair of the Treasury Committee, to replace Nicky Morgan, including ex Treasury minister Mel Stride 

Tory MP Morgan stepped down as chair after the cabinet reshuffle in July when she was appointed as secretary of state for digital, culture, media and sport, following Boris Johnson’s appointment as PM.

Traditionally the Treasury Committee is chaired by a Conservative MP.

Stride submitted his name for consideration after the initial trio of names was published before the prorogation of parliament in early September.

Stride is MP for Central Devon and was financial secretary at the Treasury for two years until May 2019 under former chancellor Philip Hammond. He was central to pushing through Making Tax Digital and has come in for criticism of the government’s draconian approach to enforcing payment terms for the loan charge.

The four candidates are:

•             Harriett Baldwin MP;

•             Mark Garnier MP;

•             Kevin Hollinrake MP; and

•             Mel Stride MP.

The ballot will take place on Wednesday 23 October from 10:00 to 13:30. As soon as practicable after the close of the ballot, the result will be published under the direction of the Speaker.

The elected MP will take up their position as chair with immediate effect. Chairs are elected to serve until the end of the parliamentary session.

Sara White

Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rate this article

Related Articles