Mel Stride to chair Treasury Committee

Former financial secretary to the Treasury and Conservative MP Mel Stride has been appointed as chair of the influential Treasury Committee

The Speaker John Bercow has confirmed the appointment of Stride, who will take up the position of chair with immediate effect.

The chair role is traditionally held by a Conservative MP. Stride replaces Nicky Morgan MP who stepped down as chair in July when she was appointed to the Cabinet as secretary of state for digital, culture, media and sport, following Boris Johnson’s appointment as PM.

Stride was in the running for the job against three Tory MPs including Kevin Hollinrake, Harriet Baldwin and Mark Garnier.

In two rounds of voting, Stride received the majority of votes, including 237 in round one and went through to a second stage of voting against Baldwin and Hollinrake.

Stride will be taking over midway through the enquiry into the collapse of Thomas Cook which has seen some tough hearings over the last few days with the auditors EY and PwC, and also the audit regulator, the Financial Reporting Council (FRC).

Stride said: ‘The confidence that the House has shown in me I will reciprocate in terms of chairing that committee with the upmost fairness and could I finally say that at a time of great sound and fury in this chamber, I hope that our committee now brings forward some illumination and light.’

Chairs are elected to serve until the end of the parliamentary session.

Stride was instrumental in pushing through the HMRC transition to Making Tax Digital for VAT reporting, and also was in post when the controversial loan charge rules were introduced, now under independent review by Sir Amyas Morse, former head of the National Audit Office.

Sara White

Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rate this article

Related Articles