European Commission publishes update of list of countries applying the Registered Exporter System

Released 05 December 2018

The European Commission has published guidance about the Registered Exporter System together with an update of the list of countries applying the system.

The Registered Exporter system (the REX system) is the system of certification of origin of goods that applies in the Generalised System of Preference (GSP) of the European Union since 1 January 2017. It is based on a principle of self-certification by economic operators who will make out themselves so-called statements on origin. To be entitled to make out a statement on origin, an economic operator will have to be registered in a database by his competent authorities. The economic operator will become a ‘registered exporter’. The REX system will progressively and completely replace the current system of origin certification based on certificates of origin issued by governmental authorities and on invoice declarations made out under certain conditions by economic operators. The global transition period from the current system of origin certification to the REX system started on 1 January 2017 and will last until 30 June 2020 at the latest.

For more information, see REX - Registered Exporter system.

Be the first to vote