Namibia removed from EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions

Released 6 November 2018

The European Council has removed Namibia from the EU's list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

Namibia has made sufficient commitments at a high political level to address EU concerns. As a result, it has been moved from annex I (non-cooperative jurisdictions) to annex II, which covers jurisdictions that cooperate with the EU to reform their tax policies. This leaves five non-cooperative jurisdictions: American Samoa, Guam, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago and the US Virgin Islands and a total of 65 jurisdictions actively cooperating with the EU in implementing tax good governance standards. The EU’s list helps to prevent tax avoidance by businesses and promote tax good governance worldwide. It was established in December 2017.

For more information, see Taxation: Namibia removed from EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions.

Be the first to vote